My First Time — Smoking Brisket that is: Smoking

Posted on Updated on

The day has come.  It’s smokin’ time.  The brisket has been getting happy in the dry rub and the sauce has been melding and mellowing.  Time to get the smoker ready.  I have a Weber Smoky Mountain Smoker.  Controlling the temperature in the smoker depends on wind, outside temperature, humidity and how often you open the smoker.  As a result, I will not be mopping.  Mopping requires opening the cooker and results in a significant temperature drop.  I am still torn over the decision on using the Texas crutch. The purist in me screams, NO.  The pragmatist says, it cuts time and ensures moisture and tenderness and, thus, makes sense.  I’ll have to make a decision within the next 3-4 hours.

I’m using the Minion Method for fuel for the first time and hope that it lives up to its billing and helps control the temperature.  I have always had problems maintaining a low enough temperature using the traditional “lit charcoal under unlit” method.  I am hoping this makes the day painless.  It would be nice to be able to shoot a quick 9 holes of golf without worrying about the temperature or fuel level of the smoker.  At 1 1/2 hr in, I am impressed by the method’s ability to maintain a low, even temperature.

The smoke today is courtesy of hickory and mesquite.  I wanted to use oak with the hickory, but could not find any oak chunks on short notice.  I could have used apple or cherry, but I think I will save those for pork.

Now it is just a matter of time.

Leave a Reply

