Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken (Pollo a la Brasa)

Posted on

Photo Aug 22, 8 14 37 PM

It was the inaugural meal for our new Weber 2290 rotisserie for the Weber Performer. I had to give it a spin (pun intended) as soon as it arrived.

The recipe was not mine so I will link to it instead of publishing it. The credit for this one goes to Mike Vrobel at DadCooksDinner.com. The recipe for Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken can be found here: Pollo a la Brasa.
I made it without the drip pan potatoes, but I am sure they would have been awesome.

The key to this recipe is the Aji Amarillo paste. I was lucky enough to find it at Wegmans. Now I did make a few adaptations to the procedure. I marinaded the chicken for 24 hours. For the first 20 hours, I had the chicken in a one gallon sealed storage bag. For the final 4 hours, I removed the chicken from the bag and let the chicken skin dry out. This produces a crispier skin.

Photo Aug 22, 8 12 54 PM

In addition to lump charcoal in the Weber Performer, I used some soaked applewood chips for some added flavor. After 1 ½ hour of cooking, the chicken was moist, tender and absolutely delicious.

Photo Aug 22, 8 13 50 PM

DadCooksDinner.com has numerous rotisserie recipes. Pollo a la Brasa will be the first of many that I’ll have to try now that the rotisserie is in place. I already have an order in place from the in-laws for a rotisserie roast beef.

2 thoughts on “Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken (Pollo a la Brasa)

    Jill said:
    August 26, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make
    this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks

      Bob Mitchell responded:
      August 27, 2013 at 11:20 am

      Thanks Jill. I use the WordPress Enterprise theme. It is free and available for use. Good luck on your blog.

Leave a Reply

